Advancements in Geothermal Energy – Blog Summary

One of the blogs that I followed, Thoughts On The Engineering Industry, posted a blog last week that I found really interesting on geothermal energy. Though my current degree is in the Civil field, I focused a lot on renewable energy sources when getting my mechanical degree and find it all really intriguing. This post didn’t necessarily cover any advancements in geothermal technology, but instead talks about how countries along the ring of fire are making the greatest advancements in geothermal technology because of the availability of natural pockets of hot water. Some countries, like Germany, are hoping to convert all of their heating power to renewable resources, most of which would come from geothermal. Because geothermal energy is consistent all year around it could fill in the gaps where other renewable sources would be intermittent. 

