This class has taught me…

I have learned a lot about writing and everything else that goes into writing during this class. I think the thing that will stick with me the most is organization, and the editing that prompts changes in the organization of a document. I had always tried to make my documents look appealing and clear, but we learned many tips and tricks in this class to ensure our writing is clear and effective. While these skills are primarily applied to technical documents, they serve to improve the structure of essays and other writing as well. I also liked the editing techniques we learned. Thinking about editing as a process instead of a simple task has the ability to take the same piece of writing to a much higher level of effectiveness. A large part of this editing goes into the organization of the document, which is why I think these two things will have the largest effect on my future writing.

-Andrew Coco

