Audience

This class has solidified and reminded me of the importance of knowing one’s audience. Before taking this class, I knew that it was a good idea to pay attention to the audience of a piece. However, I didn’t really use that knowledge to change my writing at all. The more we worked in this class, the more I realized how much it could improve my writing. Being able to explain things in a way that people of different mindsets can understand is a very powerful thing. So much misunderstanding can come from people trying and failing to understand a very complex idea. If they could instead read something that explains the situation on a more basic level, the problems caused by the misunderstanding would be solved. I have definitely noticed that when writing something, I now pause for a moment and try to think about who would be reading it, and how I can cater to their needs.

