Remembering the Reader

My biggest takeaway from this class has definitely been the necessity of focusing on who I’m writing for. In programming, common practice is to document one’s code by writing comments throughout it explaining what a given block or line of code does. I’ve always adhered to this standard, but looking back at my past work has shown me that I haven’t done it very well. The comments are supposed to help the readers, and I never really seemed to think about that when writing. Remembering that I’m writing for fellow developers who may have never seen the code I’m writing before means that I need to explain everything, including vocab terms that may be unique to the project. Knowing one’s audience is a huge deal in any form of writing, but is a skill especially necessary in documenting software. It’s something that I will definitely keep in mind in my writing down the road.

Jeremy Q

