Getting to the Point

I’ve taken a lot out of this class, but most of all I’ve learned to make my point quickly. Every sentence that’s written should have a point and make that point clearly and concisely. There is no reason to beat around the bush when presenting information. The phrase “readers are raiders for information” defines this notion. For example, this holds true when writing documentation for code. In this example, a reader simply wants to understand the code using the documentation, nothing more. Therefore, efforts should be made to make the code as clear as possible using the least amount of words.

Every discipline of writing I’ve taken so far has never made this idea apparent to me. This is because making your point at all is emphasized to be more important than anything else presented. However, the more detail that is given the more opportunities for loss of clarity and misinterpretation arise. There are clear benefits to presenting information to the best of one’s ability in the fewest mount of words. A larger group of readers can understand your document, the words you do write carry more meaning, and your readers will be thankful that they can get to the point without reading too much filler. Having substance to your writing is more important than having a lot of useless information. The lesson to take from this is quality over quantity.

Moving forward I plan to write this way in my future career. Adopting this style will make what I write easier for other people to understand and help me think about what details need to be cut out from a message. Taking part in presenting information in a certain way has also made me think differently about others writing. Whenever I read now I try to incorporate the parts that I think help get my point across. To get to the point, I’ve learned to limit my writing to only write what I think is necessary.

-Ted Kaminski

